Blogger Widgets Blogspot Tutorial

Friday, October 29, 2010

The τουμαραθωνίουmarathonproject this Sunday in Athens

My website part of the project 
along with an application for iphone/ipad

The Marathon Marathon Project (hereinafter τουμαραθωνίουmarathonproject), will take place in Athens at the Acropolis Museum on October 31, 2010 under the auspices of the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

The project takes as its point of departure the impressive international array of marathon-format events and in particular “The Marathon Project”, which curator Hans Ulrich Obrist conceived in Stuttgart in 2005. 

The project is being realized at a historical conjuncture which is proving to be decisive for re-shaping the broader features of Greek society and culture. The event explores such topics as the new understanding of humanism that has emerged within contemporary culture, the re-interpretation of innovation in a globalized world of hybrid realities, and the role of the arts in the memorization of the past, present and future. Other topics include the renegotiation of the ideaof the Other (which comes to the fore in the Battle of Marathon itself and in Aeschylus’s Persians)and the symbolic transformation of Pheidippides from soldier to warrior-runner.

Artists, writers, poets, philosophers, scientists from Greece and abroad will take part in τουμαραθωνίουmarathonproject, which is being curated by Hans Ulrich Obrist and Nadja Argyropoulou.

The Marathon marathon participants so far are: Daniel Birnbaum, Jeff Koons,, Sarah Morris, Nikolaus Hirsch, Anna Boghiguian, Armand Marie Leroi, Huang Yong Ping, Simon Fujiwara, Nairy Baghramian, Societe Realiste & Jorgos Papadopoulos, Nanos Valaoritis, Vlassis Kaniaris, Dimitris Dimitriadis, Panos Koutrouboussis, Christiana Soulou, Yiannis Papadakis, Andreas Angelidakis, Yiannis Varelas, Antonis Liakos, Vangelis Vlahos, Zyranna Zateli, Kostis Velonis, Athanasios Argianas, Giorgos Koumendakis, Leda Papakonstantinou, Stelios Ramfos, Yorgos Tzirtzilakis, Fivi Giannisi, Angelo Papadimitriou, Eva Stefani, Vassilis Papavassiliou,Yorgos Sapountzis, Christodoulos Panayiotou, Angelo Plessas, Maria Papadimitriou, Julia Peyton Jones, Ilias Zenghelis, Luigi Ontani, Etel Adnan, Iannis Xenakis.

No comments: